Developing Shrink Film Charms

Since Printcess shut its doors, I’ve been at a reduction regarding where to resource my acrylic charms. Zap! and InkIt are both feasible contenders, with InkIt’s beauties being closer to the general aesthetic I like for charms, and their clear appeals looking super slick. While I await InkIt to open their rasterization service, motivation struck. My friend, Cassie Freire (@ ferretparty), lately did a set of Catnip Circle double appeals offered in either Mela or Pera tastes. These lovable charms, including one big appeal of among the two ladies, and one smaller sized appeal, struck me as being a great product to operate in a small group. This kind of prototyping provides itself well to an item I’ve only messed around in as soon as- shrink film charms.
I designed some 7″ Kara three times the appeals- two Kara styles readily available, a pencil beauty, and either a blackberry or some paperbark. These Kara beauties had two sides- wonderful girly Kara or daring buttkicking Kara. After mindful examination with the ever before great Cassie and the generous Zoey Hogan (@ caporushes), I took the plunge in to the world of shrink film beauties.
I very recommend Zoey’s wonderful blog as a resource if you’re interested in making little manufacturing run charms on your own.
I understood that I preferred my charms to be electronically colored, but the idea of inking them digitally had not been delighting. I chose to attempt something new (for me), inking them commonly with a fude pencil, after that scanning them and coloring them. Typically, if I start in a tool, I attempt to stay in that tool, yet electronic inking takes me days whereas typical inking takes hours, and I seemed like the experiment was worth it.
I browsed my inks at 600 DPI, much larger than essential, yet I desired them to be as sharp as possible.
I’ll admit that my digital coloring design isn’t very advanced- layers after layers of shading established to on multiply with certain degrees of opacity. When my files start obtaining huge, I start setting up groups and flatting out layers. Working this means is a little bit evocative exactly how I do watercolor and colored pen job- layers after layers.
These lovable beauties, showcasing one big charm of one of the 2 ladies, and one smaller charm, struck me as being a superb product to run in a little batch. I made some 7″ Kara three-way beauties- 2 Kara layouts available, a pencil charm, and either a blackberry or some paperbark. After mindful consultation with the ever before fantastic Cassie and the reasonable Zoey Hogan (@ caporushes), I took the plunge in to the world of shrink film appeals.

Leave a comment